The FedExCup

The PGA TOUR entered a new era in 2007 with the introduction of the FedExCup, a season-long points competition offering $35 million in bonus money and culminating with the PGA TOUR’s first-ever Playoff system. In 2014-15, the four Playoffs events will offer $32 million in prize money, meaning a total of $67 million is on the line over the four weeks of FedExCup Playoff competition.

Over the span of 47 events, players vie to become the FedExCup Champion, which distinguishes the one player who not only performs well during the 43-tournament PGA TOUR Season, but also excels through the pressure of the four-event FedExCup Playoffs. Tiger Woods won the inaugural FedExCup in 2007 and its $10-million top prize and won again in 2009. Others to hoist the FedExCup trophy include Vijay Singh (2008), Jim Furyk (2010), Bill Haas (2011), Brandt Snedeker (2012), Henrik Stenson (2013) and Billy Horschel (2014).

During the PGA TOUR Season, TOUR members earn points based on their results, with a strong emphasis placed on winning and high finishes. Once the PGA TOUR Season concludes, the top-125 players advance to the FedExCup Playoffs, a series of four $8-million tournaments offering quadruple points relative to PGA TOUR Season events.

The Playoffs feature a progressive cut, beginning with The Barclays in the New York/New Jersey area (125 players), continuing with the Deutsche Bank Championship in Boston (100 players) and the BMW Championship in Chicago (70 players). A reseed takes place, seeding the top-30 players for the culminating TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola in Atlanta, where the FedExCup Champion is crowned.

Sponsors Advertisement